Identity

A funny concept, honestly.

We fight for freedom, and scream our individuality at the top of our lungs; but deep down we all need to feel loved and accepted. We search for our identity in the music we love, the friends we keep and the pleasure we seek.

We identify with a group of people, whether the connection is cultural, familial or just plain sexual. We need to connect to others and have a sense of purpose and belonging, when we do joy and peace is present. God has created this need in us so we seek him out and have that beautiful relationship, but we look for it in other things.

I have tried very hard to place my identity firmly in Christ, to not let society deceive me into thinking that something I do or something I inherently am is what buys my ticket to the promised land.

Yet, if asked whom I am I usually say; mother and teacher, first and foremost. Those two words are my identity and when your identity gets challenged or questioned life can feel hopeless.

We must always look to hope; do not let fear win in your life. Your identity is in Him alone. This will be my mantra. God is teaching me a hard, but important lesson. I must trust His path, no matter how scary it may seem.

Leave a Comment