Modesty

Modesty is a touchy subject lately. Articles abound regarding yoga pants, rape and feminism.  I am really torn about where I stand on this matter. I don’t think I have the right to judge anyone and I don’t want other people to tell me how to dress, but I can’t help but really wonder what ladies think when they walk out of the house barely dressed.

I acknowledge that they are broken people. Girls with daddy issues, looking for love and validation. When they get the attention they think they are getting what their heart craves, but love and lust are very different things. It makes me sad that they don’t have people in their lives to share this with them.  To guide them into a strong sense of self worth.

It also makes me sad to watch the impressionable young ladies I share my life with witness other women dress the way they do and judge them. We are at the fair this week with our market animals. We have been here for days and have a few left. Yes it’s been hot, yes there are some great concerts going on; but us ladies need to keep in mind that we are being watched. You don’t have to dress like a hooker to feel and look pretty. If you only knew what the little girls you walk by are saying about you. You would be mad, then ashamed. Maybe you have lived a life of shame and know no other way? Some parts of your body should be left for your husband to see only. That doesn’t mean 10 inches of cloth covering your private areas only. Respect yourselves is all I’m saying.

When all is said and done I’m left having a conversation with my daughter about modesty, marriage and being respectful of others. Not a bad thing, because God knows that above all I try and have those deep conversations with my daughters. They can only be better off for it.

What a confusing world it is for girls. Let’s not make it worse. We are all valued for so much more than our looks.

That’s the message I want to send to my girls.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Family, forgivness, hook up culture, Teenager. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

