The Man

To the Man I have fallen in love with,

I want you to know emphatically, I choose you. Over and over again a thousand times. In this lifetime and the next.

I’m sitting in this bedroom we share, reading over a file as I eavesdrop on you in the kitchen. You are teaching my daughter how to cook, and yet we all know you are teaching her so much more. This is why I choose you.

Because you have won me over with your love and dedication to my children. Don’t get me wrong, I know you love me, but I needed to know for sure that you could love them too. On their best days, and especially on their worst days. Obviously they are more important to me than my own life. I want to see them succeed beyond their wildest imaginations, and honestly their successes would have been diminished drastically if you were not a part of our lives.

This is why I choose you.

Because you have supported and encouraged me through the many struggles  of raising teenagers; and dare I say relish the challenges as only a leader of your caliber would? Showing these girls that some men can be trusted to be honest and real with them and invest in their futures’ with excitement.

This is why I choose you. 

The hours and hours you have deliberated over how to help one of them through a tough spot or to learn an important life lesson. Practicing lines for plays, helping with homework, hours of rides to school and appointments. The encouragement to get over anger and bitterness and mend relationships with those who have let us down. 

You were the missing piece that made us whole again. I choose you because I can feel the love and loyalty in all you do for us, I know you choose us too.

Yours truly,

❤️

 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in love, Relationship, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

