Special education

I have been a special education teacher for almost 10 years now and I love my job. I make a difference in the lives of students everyday. I might not get accolades and awards because of my amazing teaching skills or work ethic (I have both of those, but SPED teachers rarely get the notice they deserve), but I get to make an impact and it makes my day worth all the stress this job organically has attached to it. 

Yet, we all have issues with our work and mine is simple, some of the educators and administratiors we work with don’t really care about your child and that small percent gives us all a bad name.  So on behalf of all educators I need to say I’m sorry. 

I’m sorry that you have been dealt a difficult hand with your baby

I’m sorry that you feel overwhelmed and ill equipped to raise your handicapped child. 

I’m sorry that you probably don’t have the support you need. 

I’m sorry that perfect strangers judge you on a daily basis when they have no clue what it’s like to live your life.

But the biggest thing I want to say is this:

I’m sorry that our educational system does not support you. I’m sorry that there are people in this world that call themselves educators, yet all they do is create barriers and roadblocks for students to become people. Happy people who can become contributing members of society, instead of angry hopeless people who become a drain on society. 

I’m sorry that you have to distrust everyone becuase someone burned you. 

I’m sorry to tell you that you should trust no one but yourself when it comes to your child’s education. To assume that any educator or administrator has your child’s best interest at heart is a grave mistake you can’t afford to make. 

Do some research. Learn all you can about your child’s disability and then advocate for them. 

You are most likely the only person that will, their future depends on it. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

