Locals only

Who knew that the surf/skate punk of my youth that spewed exclusionary garbage to innocent passersby just to make herself feel as if she belonged to something special would one day wake up to realize local is where it’s at actually. Of course not the I belong and you don’t junk I thought was hip in my teens, but the you are my neighbor and I want to be neighborly way. 

It is now so obvious that God wants us to be part of a group of locals, to want to protect that place and those people. That local community is an essential part of a healthy and whole life. 

In reading “You Are There- restoring churches, people, and places” you learn just that, we belong to a place and that place needs us. 

As the author Robert Campbell so eloquently states, “The church thrives locally because we are concerned with people, plants and animals that live, grow and die. Our churches live, grow and die along with us…Christians can only be personally involved locally.”

My community cares about me, and not just my church community, but the people I do life with. I have other people who care, but they are not able to live, grow and die with me if they are not a drive away to participate in the nitty gritty realness of my messy life. 

Be ready to read this book, you will find some simple truths that can revolutionize how you respond to the community you have been placed in by God.  

Look around you and know that God put you in a place to restore the land and its people and in the process restore you. Are you doing his work right where you are at?

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

