Gods work 

I love that God gives me heavenly confirmations that I am right where I’m supposed to be when I start to get frustrated with my profession. Today was one of those days. As a teacher they come harder and faster as we draw near to the end of the school year, but today was a doozy and by the end I had that “why should I keep doing this” feeling  following me like the grim reaper. 

It didn’t help that I was pretty sick to start off the week and missed a day that left me three days behind, but I was confident I would be back on track in no time. Then it happened. Long story short I was reprimanded for not doing something that I was supposed to do by a certain timeline. 

Something I was never told I had to do, so you can imagine that I was not happy. I pride myself on my work ethic, the very reason this school district has pursued me for years now. So I set out to find out what it was that I needed to do to rectify the problem I didn’t even know existed. Fix it and move on. 

The problem is no one really knew how to fix the problem. I was sent on a wild goose chase…

Go talk to the alternative education secretary. 

No, we don’t do grades go to the high school office independent study room. 

I’m just a teacher here you need to go talk to the alternative education principal. 

I was mad and exhausted at 7:45 in the morning. So I went back to my classroom and drafted a strongly worded email. 

Let’s just say that I had what I needed in my hand within 10 minutes, but a boss who would not even speak to me as he delivered them. Even my students stared at me in disbelief when he walked out of my room. 

Needless to say the rest of the day I was fed up with education. Fed up with the broken system I was working in and praying for summer before I had a mental break down. 

Then God showed up with a trust me moment. He knew what I need when I’m not feeling it. More than I knew in that moment. This is love. No human can love me the way he loves me, because he knows what I need even before I do and he seeks out those times to love and encourage me. It makes him happy, like a good Father, encouraging me to keep up the fight. This was his message…

I was walking back to my classroom after school was out, the schools football field to my right, school buildings on my left and I noticed a track and field event going on. Then I saw a few students wearing purple, I thought to myself are those SHS students? The High School I worked at for 6 years before moving districts. 

Then I hear, “McFarlane?!?!?!” As a student ran up to the chain link fence that separated us. One of my favorite students, now a senior and he was so happy to se me that he scaled the 6 ft chain link fence to hug me and catch up, or should I say question my loyalty?

I swear I told him not to scale that fence. Yelled it even. But I’m glad he did. So great to see him and know I’ve made an impact. 

As if that wasn’t enough to change my mood another student saw the interaction. An 8th Grade I worked with my last year in the district who was now a freshman. A kid that was getting straight F’s the year I worked with him, who wanted to drop out of school and saw his life going nowhere.  I constantly encouraged/chastised him until it exhausted me. He told me that he was getting A’s and B’s, he was in sports and doing good. Then he told me he was going to move so he could come to the school I’m working at now. Such a great reminder that I am impactful in my days, even when I don’t feel it. 

I have a great job. I am so blessed to do what I do. No I will never become a millionaire, but the investments I do make will pay out heavenly dividends that will bless me for eternity. 

Thank you for the reminder Father. ❤️🙏🏼

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Education, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

