A Father’s Blessing

I spent some time doing a counseling and prayer ministry for a church I used to attend and in that time I learned so much about the importance of the relationship we have with our parents. 

As good parents we are supposed to mimic the relationship we have with the God head. So many people who reject religion have deep abiding issues with their earthly father and write off God as if he is unavailable, violent, dismissive____________ insert descriptive adjective here. This breaks my heart because it affects so many lives negatively and in the long run affects our communities and our futures. 

We all want to be validated by our father. 

That is a heavy truth. 

High expectations can lead to disappointment. Disappointment leads to a feeling of rejection. A feeling of rejection can alter a persons success in a myriad of ways. 

Approximately 82.2% of custodial parents are mothers. I know statistics do not show the whole picture, but this leaves out the vital connection of a father and child, it is heartbreaking to me. Too many fathers not man enough to invest in their child’s life. Too many mentors not encouraging young fathers to lead their families right. Too many mothers allowing their children to disrespect or even teaching them to disrespect and dishonor their fathers. The brokeness is a never ending cycle and it needs to stop

If you are a Father know that your influence is deep and wide. It might not be obvious to you. You might feel rejected and unwanted, but nothing could be further from the truth. 

We as parents need to follow Gods example. 

“And suddenly a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased.””

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭3:17‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

http://bible.com/114/mat.3.17.nkjv

He expressed his blessing publicly. Publicly. So many people need to hear their father bless them. It heals broken hearts and unmet expectations. It saves families. 

Imagine the healing and love that can come from such a simple act. If you are pleased with your child, say so. If you are not, find a reason to be and say so. 

In turn, us children need to honor our parents. If you hold deep seated resentments, let it go and forgive. Our response is our responsibility. Lets give grace, because our parents are the only relationship that we can count on in the end. 

To my Father who is gone but not forgotten. Thank you for making me feel wanted, it saved my life. 

To my mother, you are the best mother I could have ever had. God chose you to care for me and I thank you for your love and sacrifice.

Call your kids today and bless them. 

Call your parents today and bless them.

Watch it transform their days and their futures.   

 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

