Giving. 

I am always looking for the lesson that God is guiding me to in whatever situation I find myself. 

Like a good father he is always trying to teach me. I try to be a good child and follow his prompting and ponder his word.  

The last few months I have been working with three different independent study students with varying disabilities that prevent them from attending school. All of them are great kids. All of them have great families. 

One of them in particular is from a migrant family who has so much less than the other two. A family of five living in a small one bedroom apartment. The sparse decor and furniture overpowered by the presence of God. Not only are there pictures of Jesus on every wall, but the humble presence is felt in every interaction. 

Simple people who follow the tenets of their faith,they offer me food and drink every week without fail. They are the only family that do. They do not need to do this, I am getting paid a pretty decent wage to sit with their child and help him complete his schoolwork. But they do it because they believe so strongly in giving to others. They have been taught, and so they teach their children and expect no reward in return. 

What a wonderful life lesson. The golden rule in action and although I am by no means judging those who do not give me food and drink, I am appreciating the kindness bestowed on me and the glimpse of Gods hand in people’s lives. 

  

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

