Spring break, sexual harassment and plagiarism 

Teaching is not for the faint of heart. Teaching high school requires nerves of steel and the self defense skills to match.

The students always seem to go a little crazy before break and it takes the patience of Job to not choke some kid out from dealing with their ridiculousness.

What type of ridiculousness you might be thinking. How bad can high school students be, you might ask. Well let me tell you some of the doozies I experienced just today.

Plagiarism– first thing this morning I had a student working diligently ( or so it seemed) in his study skills class with me, to bring up his economics grade which I teach as well. After a few minutes he brings me the missing assignment, a group of annotated articles we did in class to support an essay they were supposed to write. Sometimes students are absent and I lend my copy so they can catch up on missing annotations. This student of mine walks up to my desk and hands me a packet, ” here miss, the articles I was missing” I take them and immediately notice that they were my copy and he wrote his name at the top. I kid you not I laughed out loud at the absurdness of it all then questioned him, ” Are you seriously trying to turn my work in to me and claim it as your own? You are lucky I don’t fail you for the whole semester. Try again.”

I Seriously wonder if seniors lose their common sense second semester because they will do whatever it takes to graduate, including plagiarize their own teacher.

Sexual harassment-Then my day was capped off with my insane, hormonal, ADHD crazed freshmen boy class, one lone girl gets to suffer with me. Yesterday they were a new level of atrocious, so today I front loaded my serious “I would punch you in the face if it didn’t get me fired” intense behavior expectations.  It seemed to work for the most part but it didn’t stop some of the inappropriate side conversations that only teenage boys can have, most of the time I ignore it and they stop because they do not get the reaction they are hoping from me. Then one of them begins to question me about my use of silicone injections, insinuating that I have had some sort of plastic surgery to make my behind look big.

It’s always fun to lecture a student regarding sexual harassment and his future. Even more fun to use witty banter to embarrass the hell out of them in front of their classmates. Two can play at that game, buddy.

I have decided that the days leading up to a break in school make the students turn into crazed lunatics, I think I feel the flu suddenly coming on. Can you say sick day?

Teaching is not for everyone, and although today was one for the books I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else.

Maybe some things I teach will actually impact them, years into the future, but eventually.

  To my fellow teachers, you are amazing. Stay strong and enjoy your spring break. 💐

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Education, Special education, Special education teacher, teachable tuesday, Teacher. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

