Breakthrough 

Most of you know my story intimately because you are friends of mine. You walked me through the valley of my divorce and consequent struggles in single parenting. 

You prayed for us, cried with us and told us when we needed to suck it up and move on. 

One of the lasting problems in my life that is a result of that trauma is my youngest child’s disdain for church. It has been a constant worry and an almost hourly prayer that has made itself home in my heart for the past few years. 

I dreaded the fighting that was inevitable on Sunday mornings when we were going to church and admittedly sometimes I didn’t go just to avoid the misery of that fight. 

Ultimately, I believed that if I stuck to my guns and made her be obedient to my request to go but did not push her any further God would work out the issues that filled her with so much anger. Anger at him, when he is not to blame. Anger at our new church family, because they are not what once was.  Anger at the changes in her life that have left her feeling broken, unwhole and less than others. 

Today I saw a small breakthrough that has given me hope. Hope that she will not forsake her beliefs, her God. Hope that she is getting through another layer of healing on this journey of ours. 

She actually listened to the sermon and took notes. She made some comments about the points being made which were thought provoking and brought tears to my eyes. 

She worshiped. That was the moment it hit me. She is starting to sing songs of praise to him, and as someone who loves to sing to God this moved me deeply. My prayer is that I will continue to trust God in how I handle the struggles we are faced with, even when it seems hopeless. 

I’m so thankful today that God never stops pursuing us. I’m thankful for her healing heart. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Family, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

