Mental health day

My second teachable Tuesday post and I have decided to write about balance. 

In the teaching profession, especially early on, it’s so easy to get overwhelmed with all there is to do, all you hoped you’d be as a teacher and the extra requirements you didn’t realize went along with the job. 

This coupled with doubt in yourself is one of the biggest reasons so many teachers quit in the first years of their supposed dream job. 

Don’t let this happen to you. Establish early on that you can’t do everything you hoped you would do right off the bat. Let others help you, jump the hoops that will help you keep your job and take time for you. 

In my district we earn periods for covering other teachers classes when they are out and there are no subs. Those earned periods can either be paid out at the end of the year or taken as paid time off. Too many people pick the money, when time is what they need. There will always be more money, but time is non-renewable.

So I take the time off, like I did today because my piece of mind is critical for me to be a success in my classroom. 

Today was my mental health day. The last two weeks, actually the last month has been pretty intense with workload and colleague/ student drama. I needed time to myself to recharge.  

So I did that. The beach is that place and solitude, which is rare for me, was what I got. Some much needed vitamin D and…

 tacos.  

 It does help that I live in California. Best day ever.  

So make sure you take time for yourself to reflect, and tell yourself that you are one awesome teacher. Because you are. You will find renewed energy to do that awesome project based learning  plan your administration wants you to do. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Education, teachable tuesday, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

