Lent

The process of depriving ourselves of things on purpose is so foreign to our society. Why would we not do, or eat, or…. Whatever we want if we can? Some do it out of religious duty. Some do it out of societal obligation. Some really do it for the right reasons. I do not profess to be one of the latter, but I hope that is how God sees it. 

I have never observed lent since my exodus from the Catholic Church and because of my resistance to societal pressures, usually I reject what others tell me I should do. Partly because of my punk rock rebellious upbringing, and in part because I like to be different. 

Yet I have found that taking myself out of my comfortable  routine can often help me grow as a person, and the deprivation of creature comforts plus doing some new things I’m not used too usually adds up to a richer, deeper life. 

So I have embarked on a Facebook fast as my ” lent” activity. It sounds ridiculous but it’s going to be hard for me. On top of having to discipline myself to stay off Facebook ( which doesn’t include things that get posted through other apps) I am going to try and replace that compulsory activity with something physically or spiritually beneficial. 

Hopefully I will have some amazing insights in the next month and half, most likely I will just experience deeper connections with loved ones and a sense of accomplishment as I battle my flesh. 

What are you giving up for lent?

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

