Bully

I despise bullies with a passion. As a teacher I will see glimpses of hate, gossip and exclusion that makes my blood boil and I try to confront it as bluntly as possible. 

Ask my students who share their day with me the one thing I will not tolerate, or let slide in any way and that is any type of bullying or derogatory speech. It is my job, and I take it very seriously, to make sure ALL my students feel safe in the little community that is my classroom. 

I have been on bullying committees in my career and give many “lectures” on the importance of speaking kindly about everyone and trying to treat everyone with respect. 

I have counseled students who say things out of anger or frustration who ended up regretting it because it resulted in an altercation, loss of friendship or worse. 

I have never, until this day; seen a blatant , purposeful, evil attack on students with disabilities and I’m still reeling from the shock of it all. 

How have we not taught our children the basics of human compassion and respect?

How is it possible for society to allow our children to prey on the weak and not do anything about it?

How do we make kids accountable if their parents are not?

I am asking myself these questions because at this point I feel a little helpless and hopeless, which is out of character for me. 

I know there is something I can do, I’m just not sure what that is yet. 

May your children know compassion, give compassion and eventually teach compassion. 

  

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Community, Justice, Parenting, Relationship, School, Special education, Special education teacher, Sped, Teacher, Teachers, Teenager, The Christian life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

