The queen of teen

Childbirth is an amazing experience. I have been through it three times and have three amazing daughters that brighten my life daily. 

I will never forget the feeling of holding them in my arms after they were born. Each one of them so sweet and precious, but unique as well. 

Today is my middle child’s 17th birthday. Her name is Victoria, and like the queen, she has set her self apart from the crowd from day one. 

She is an individual, and very confident in herself at all times. She cares nothing of what the world thinks of her and does what she wants. She is bright, artistic, funny, and kind. 

She has all the good qualities I possess and none of the negative ones. 

Where I far too often let people take advantage of me, she has learned to set boundaries and be firm. Where I lose confidence in my ability to be successful at something, her confidence can often look like arrogance. 

She amazes me daily. 

One of the biggest reasons I’m awestruck by her is that she has overcome so much in her short 17 years. 

Early on in her school career we noticed that she wasn’t acquiring the necessary reading skills like her peers. After a couple years she was diagnosed with a visual processing disorder ( think dyslexia) and I made the tough decision to homeschool her so I could teach her how to read. It was an uphill battle but within a year we raised her reading level by 3 grades. Yes, we skipped a ton of math and she still harasses me for that, but her reading is above grade level as if she never had a problem.  As we continued progress however, she started to exhibit anxiety, which we also treated through the schools IEP process and with a counselor she started to get better. She went back to a regular school and promptly digressed because of intense bullying. 

We then decided to move her to a different school district and, like the sun light breaking through the dark and dreary clouds, life was suddenly much better for her. We celebrated normalcy for a brief time, not knowing that her biggest challenge was yet to present itself. 

She was then diagnosed with epilepsy at the young age of 12. It was a devastating and heartbreaking time for us all. But she has handled it with the strength and grace of someone 3 times her age. 

That is why I celebrate her today. Not just because she was born, but because she was born and then presented with the types of trials that would bring anyone to their knees in despair; and she is still standing. 

Because her smile and laughter and outlook on life is infectious. Because she has style and attitude and her issues have never stopped her from living life. 

I love everything about her and I’m so glad that God entrusted her in my care for this time. I pray that I have done a good enough job in  raising her. 

I love you girl, you make me so very proud.  

 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Education, Family, Health, Memories, Parenting, School, Special education, Teenager, The Christian life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

