Humbly boasting

I’ve always known that I am a good parent.  It has been my highest calling and my honor to raise my girls. It is a hard and often thankless job, but one I have taken pride in accomplishing with such success. 

Being a single parent is different. Some would say that I have always been a single parent. That is partially true, but doing this thing called raising kids, really truly on my own, has been a little difficult and very interesting. 

I never gave much thought to how others are doing this all too common situation. I try not to compare myself to others but, I often criticize myself and feel more than inadequate because the weight of this job. My viewpoint is now changing thanks to a special person in my life. 

I’m actually amazing at this single mother thing. I have been successful at it, despite what I’ve felt the past few years. 

My kids have a roof over their head, a pretty decent one actually and that is because I am a good single mother. 

My girls have everything they need and many things they want, because I’m an amazing single mother

My daughters have worked through much of the pain and heartache of the divorce and damage of our marriage, with my help and the help of professionals. I’ve worked through this with them because I’m a great single mother.

Has it been easy? Not at all, but nothing worthwhile ever is easy. 

I think a big reason I did not see my successes is that I was too busy just doing it. But as I reflect on the past year and prepare for a new one this idea that I am good has settled on me and I’m proud of myself. 

I guess that is something I should get used to, being proud and having people in my life that point out and celebrate my accomplishments. 

To all of you single parents, I applaud you. You are rocking it, even if it doesn’t feel like it. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Family, future, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Humbly boasting

  1. I have nothing but respect for single mums and especially for good ones like you 🙂 My mum raised as alone for the most part and I don’t know how we would have gotten through the messy separation without her. Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

