Resolve

This is the time of year for that thing we do, resolutions for the new year.

We look back on the year that has passed us by, pondering the good and bad. We look at the current state of our lives get discouraged and we tear us apart.

Nit picking every decision we have made; the state of our health, our finances, our relationships.

We should be thinner, wealthier, more organized and happier then we were a year ago.

It amazes me how difficult we are on our selves. How we tear ourselves down, usually as we compare our selves to our neighbors. Comparison is the thief of joy. 

This year I resolve to not compare myself to others. I resolve to focus on joy. I resolve to be an encouragement to others; and myself.

I will be proud of the health I do have, content with my body. Celebrating the me that God loves. I will not focus on the negatives that try to plague my thoughts.

Rejoice in the financial burdens I have overcome. Not dwell on the ones still looming.

Be amazed at the blessed relationships I have, both new and old. Not compare my relationships to others.

Does this mean I don’t need to make changes in my life. No way.

Those changes come to me every morning as I meditate on Gods word. I start every day with contemplation of things to change and thanksgiving for the blessings in my life.

If you resolve to do anything this year, that should be it.

Spend time daily focusing on your blessings and watch your life change.

May God help you to focus your eyes of the blessings you already have this year and into the next.  

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Community, Health, Parenting, Relationship, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

