Mother of the Bride

I knew this day was coming since she was 6 years old and playing elaborate wedding and family scenes with her dolls.  I did not realize how emotional this transition would make me. We all want to see our children happy, living a successful life out on their own. That is our job and I think I’ve done it well for the most part, but now that the actual final act of marriage is around the corner I’m a bit of an emotional wreck.

I’m amazingly, ecstaticly happy for her because I know all her dreams are coming true. It helps that the guy she chose has some amazing qualities and I can be proud to call him son-in-law.

I’m unrealistically, ridicously emotional and worried as well. As the bible so beautifully puts it “For this cause shall a man( or woman)  leave his father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife; and the two shall become one flesh: so that they are no more two, but one flesh.”
‭‭Mark‬ ‭10:7-8‬ ‭ASV‬‬
http://bible.com/12/mrk.10.7-8.asv 

    I am not ready to say goodbye to her, to see her grow up and move on. Yes I know she is actually already done this but the act of marriage is so final, so official. I also worry ( cause it is my job) about the times that they will struggle. They will fall into the traps all married couples fall in to; hurtful words, selfish thinking, painful mistakes. My prayer is that they are minimal and that they rely on God to carry them through and never forget GRACE.

I’m trusting in God and believing that us parents have put in the hard work that will make their marriage a little bit easier.

I’m also crying…. I might as well embrace this state for the next year or so.

My baby is getting married.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Family, future, Memories, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

