Count your blessings. 

Most days we are trudging through life. Keeping our head down, pushing on selfishly protecting ourselves from any further damage this world is looking to hurl at us.

Other days we take a moment to look up. Maybe because we feel a second of reprieve and decide to relish in it. Maybe because we realize; for unfortunate reasons that this life is fleeting and we force ourselves to see the beauty of this day, this minute.

Maybe it was a God ordained meeting and there is no other explanation.

I had one of these moments this evening as I sat with my friend and her family, visiting each other as best friends and neighbors often do. Being a part of the ebb and flow of the family dynamic, because we have grown into each other. Like a tree that grows up through a rock, not really natural but beautiful and a permanent part of each other.

As we sat visiting and our children milled around chatting and visiting themselves, her husband came in the room in an awe inspiring fashion.

You see he is normally the strong silent type. Unchanging. Stable.  He is a great man…with a great beard. He has sported his fabulous facial hair for more years than I can count. It seems that it has been years since I have seen his face, and then in he strolls, clean shaven and smooth as a babies bottom. The atmosphere in the room of 6 children and 3 adults changed drastically and all of his children had totally different reactions.

Some sat in silence. Stunned

Others made fun of him.

One or two contemplated quietly, while one or two fell completely apart almost in hysterics.

Children really are amazing, and their connection to their parents and how they perceive them is an awesome God inspired thing. It echoes of the holy connection we have with our father in heaven.

I wonder what processes we go through when we realize something new about our Heavenly Father. He is unchanging. That I know, but I also know that I don’t know everything. I hope I’m still open to quiet contemplation when he reveals more of his nature to me.

I pray it gives me new perspective and helps me to draw closer in to a relationship with him that changes me for the better.

This family is a good model of that most days and I love them for it.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Community, Family, love, Memories, Parenting, Relationship, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

