Running

I am sitting here at 4 am questioning my sanity as I wake up just enough to go for a run.

Today is my first day of my training program for a 1/2 marathon, and yet I’m not really a runner.

Yes I’ve read all the motivational crap that tells me otherwise, but I have always secretly ( and sometimes not so secretly) laughed at people who ran on purpose. Similar to my feeling about people who drive a Prius, and yet I almost bought one a few months ago.

I digress…

I guess what I’m saying is, never say never right? Now some young, snarky, twenty something is laughing to themselves when they see me jog by, all the while sipping their cappuccino at the coffee shop like a true hipster that doesn’t give a crap. I remember those days, and I’m not sure if I miss them or regret them.  In all honesty this running gig has saved my life, more mentally and emotionally than physically, and I am grateful.

Full circle it is, at least I admit the irony of it all.

Happy trails.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Health, Long distance running, people, Runner, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

