Safety

Safety is a necessity for a good life. We all search for it in our relationships, our things, our jobs. Worldly things.

Ironically, the world is full of danger. Safety is hard to find. We think we find it, then we realize it is a mirage at best. In the best relationship we get reprieve from the turmoil of living in this fallen world. In the worst relationship we tear down and get torn down. It is then that we build walls, just like a safe it seems like it would protect us from further damage. Yet it also serves to keep us from the real vulnerable relationships that can enrich our lives so deeply.

When I was young I felt safe, as we all do for the most part. But it wasn’t long before the evilness of the world crept in and stole that safety from me. All it takes is a look at the news to see how unsafe this world is. It wasn’t long before I forgot that I used to feel safe, protected and unafraid. I lived most of my life terrified of everything. Scared to be alone, scared to be a failure, scared to be a success….just terrified of life. I was desperately seeking safety, even at the expense of others. Every man for himself right?

Then my ever faithful God gave me a vision, a sliver of memory from my past. It was the best gift I have ever been given. I remembered the girl I was born to be, the fearless leader that had compassion to spare. I saw the vision a bright face untouched by shame and confident in the safety of her Fathers’ arms. I knew then that my goal in life was to trust God completely, that my safety could only be found in him. This gave me the courage to love vulnerably and risk the pain. Yes, I still get hurt, but I find my safety and identity in him and so he heals me. 

As my protector, my strong tower, my deliverer he has wrapped me in his arms of complete protection and I am healing.

I might be a bit beat up, but I know he wants to take that all away and make me brand new in him.

Image credit: “safe” – © 2007 Paul Keller – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

Proverbs 18:10
The name of the LORD is a fortified tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, future, Memories, The Christian life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

