Stages of life

I love to help people. It makes me happy to help others and help them reach their full potential. It is why I became a teacher. It is why my kids appreciate me ( most of the time haha). I don’t feel good about myself unless I’m giving back in some way. 

But there were times in my life I could not do what I loved and desired to do, other people took all my time and energy out of jealousy or extreme need or pure selfishness. I had my times that I tried to spend time volunteering. I did a youth group for about a year, which I loved. I helped in various activities and groups on the high school campus I worked at, and I started a prayer street ministry at an old church I attended before I moved. They were all areas of need that I felt lead to, but sometimes the struggles of our lives make it hard to bless others. That is the point of the evil in this world, make us focus on ourselves so we don’t not see the need in others or have the time to help. 

Every time I tried to help my community I was challenged or given an ultimatum, which ultimately made me quit doing those things. 

After feeling good about where we have settled and worked out most of the anger and sadness of our circumstances we are in a good stable place now and I can try again. 

So far I have been teaching Sunday school which has been a trip. As a teacher I prefer the high school aged students, but I’m learning to appreciate all kids. The elementary aged students I am working with now crack me up, and bless me. After a few Sunday’s I decided that I needed to do more and so I volunteered for a local non profit that helps some of our communities less fortunate people. 

I’m pretty happy to be in a place that I can do these things. I hope my presence has some significance for those who are fighting against the darkness. 

To those of you thinking you want to reach out and help, just do it. It is an eye opener to what really matters in life. That’s for sure. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

