Father’s Day. 

This is a day full of mixed emotions for me. I hope others realize that there are many of us out there that won’t be celebrating our wonderful dads today, either because they are no longer with us, never were or because they just were never wonderful.

It amazes me the true impact that a father (or lack thereof) has on a person. Not that mothers are not vital and can step into that role if need be; but God created men to be fathers. Please do not think that I believe that is their only purpose, but it is an important one. The impact of not having a healthy living father in a child’s life is far reaching and affects our whole society. So to those who are rocking it; I salute you.

The man that beams with pride every time his child does something special (or not so special). Happy Father’s Day.

To the man who spends countless hours coaching, or tutoring, or practicing or teaching their children. Happy Fathers Day.

To the man that can love on an infant, protect a toddler, instruct a child, affirm a teen and guide an adult. Happy Father’s Day.

To the new Fathers who are enjoying their first day of celebration; I pray that God will be your inspiration for everything you say and do, but don’t be too hard on yourself, know that mistakes are ok if you admit them and ask for forgiveness. The best parents know when to demand respect and when to ask their children for forgiveness.

My Dad was a good dad. He loved his kids, he was fun and spent a great deal of time with us. Except, he was not around much for me because my parents were divorced. He had his struggles for sure, he did not help my mother financially which made things hard on us. He was stubborn as an ox, but I respected him. He loved me, this I know.

My daughters fathers are not that kind of father. They have their good qualities, which I try often to point out. But my girls don’t hear it. You see when you have decided that someone doesn’t love you, you stop trying to see the good in them. This breaks my heart.

This is why today is a sad day for me. Yet, I can rejoice in the fact that I have a loving Heavenly Father who has been more of a father to me than any earthly father could have been. He is also the one who will mend my girls hearts; to know and understand what a true father feels for his daughter.

Oh, how he loves us. With an everlasting, intimate healing love that transcends generations.

To the best father of all. Happy Father’s Day.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Family, forgivness, love, Memories, Parenting, Relationship, Teenager, The Christian life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

