Hope

“I still believe in man, in spite of man.” – Elie Weisel

Hope is essential to our survival. It has been proven through out history, but more importantly it is evident to me in my daily life. I have survived some horrible things, because I have hope in a better tomorrow. I have hope of the saving grace of Jesus. I have hope in people’s ability to persevere.

I work with kids who often have no hope. Students who have failed academically for so long, they know deep in their bones they will never overcome. (lies) Students who have been treated so poorly by friends, family, bullies that they believe the lies about their self worth and become the very thing that is spoken over them. Because they have no hope.

Most of my work days are spent trying to infuse hope to the hopeless. It’s a daily struggle for us all.

I’m able to encourage many and see the results of my investment through the changing of attitude, the attempt to believe in themselves again will eventually turn to success and hope is born. It’s a glorious thing to see a child transformed from hopeless to empowered.

Other times you see that your encouragement didn’t take root. You hear that an old student is in jail or on drugs or dropped out of school. It’s heartbreaking and makes my job hard sometimes.

Many people will say to me that I can’t save them all. But I think they misunderstand my mission. I know I can’t save any of them. I can only try to show them the truth; that they are amazing, they are loved, they have a purpose on this earth. 

The rest is between them and God.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Community, Education, hope, Relationship, School, Special education, Special education teacher, Sped, Teacher, Teachers, Teenager, The Christian life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

