Moving on

The end of a relationship is difficult for both parties, no matter who made the decision to end it or if it was mutual. 

It is hard for me to say goodbye to anyone because my life’s goal is to cultivate relationships. To build a community that supports each other. Loves each other. Because we need as much love and support from others that we can get. 

Being in community is what makes life worth living. I need it, I’m sure you do too. 

I guess I feel a little like I’m not whole, now that I’m single. The lies that get whispered to me in the quietness of my alone time. 

 I know that’s not really true, because no other person is going to complete me. But I often feel lonely in this singleness of mine. I like to share my life with another person. To go to them when I’m low and feel comforted. To support and encourage them when they need it. Or just to have some to sit next too, listen to their breathing as you attend to your chores. 

But my singleness has taught me many things I needed to know. I don’t need a man, I can manage on my own. But I know my life could be richer with a man. The right man, that is. My biggest lesson of all; I’m worthy to be treated with love and respect and I need to wait to find that. 

I’ve been in only a few serious relationships. They lasted for many years and they were not all that healthy. Obviously I’m a different person now. God has changed me and refined me into the woman I am today. Caring, sincere, loyal and yet independent and strong.  A woman who ultimately looks to Jesus for all she needs. I say ultimately, because I’m human. I have my moments of weakness where I make poor choices, but I always come back to the truth. 

The truth Is that I deserve to be a priority in a significant others life. Even when life gets difficult. 

It hurts to say goodbye, and it takes awhile to feel whole again. Especially when there is no real negative personality flaw that screams for you to run away.  I am always learning to be kind and respectful, even when you don’t see eye to eye.  It’s a daily lesson sometimes. 

Life’s an interesting trip, enjoy every person and moment you experience and make it joyful. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

