The noble profession

I have the best and yet one of the most terrifying jobs on the earth. 

Yes, some might disagree with me. That is their right, but seriously people, I’m responsible for your children’s education. That is a heavy burden to bear. So many people to possibly let down;  your child, you, your family members, administration, the list goes on. It could be debilitating to people who are not built to be champions. 

That’s what us teachers are; champions

We tirelessly look for ways to reach your child and spark a love for learning. To find their niche and be their cheerleaders in education and beyond. 

We are their counselors when you are not able to be there. Or even worse, when you are actually the opposite

We build up a child that has been torn down by the very person who should love and protect them. 

We make difficult phone calls to CPS, not knowing what might become of the child we have learned to care for, but knowing that someone needs to make the difficult decision to do the right thing. 

We go home at night to our own lives, our own struggles and find our minds wandering to the safety and well being of a child who admits their parents beat them, or uses drugs, or is just stuck in a never ending cycle of poverty and low self worth. 

We do our best to put our worries about our students on the shelf; and know that they will be waiting there tomorrow with new fires to put out. Fires that we put out with enthusiasm, because we care. 

Many rules tell us to not hug or touch students, because it could be considered inappropriate. I hug my students. I hug them when their autism/PTSD/disability makes them feel overwhelmed and want to hurt themselves or others. It happens more often than you think. I buy students lunch to celebrate the little victories, like making it a whole day without saying a bad word. Because for some of them, that is a huge accomplishment. I put mountains of paperwork aside ( to be taken home and done when I should be caring for my own children) to listen to a broken hearted child explain their frustration of wanting so desperately to be a success, but never being able to accomplish it. 

Teaching is a noble profession. It’s a scary, overwhelming, amazing, exciting profession. 

Even though I wonder if I’m making a difference, I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. Gods hands and feet, that’s me. 

  

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Community, Education, Family, Parenting, people, PTSD, School, Sped, Teachers, The Christian life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The noble profession

  1. Jennifer says:

    Awesome Becca. This is how I see you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

