Fear not

I was given the opportunity to be part of a book launch team, which is pretty exciting since I like to write and I love this writers heart. I don’t think I can reveal the title or authors name at this point, but I’ve enjoyed what I have read so far. 

I am on a chapter that talks about fear. A subject near and dear to my heart, why you ask? Two reasons; first I was terribly afraid as a child and young adult. It altered my life in many ways that could have been avoided if I, like the cowardly lion, was given some courage. Thankfully I no longer live in the past, but embrace my future. 

The second reason is because I see so many people who are crippled by fear, and therefore they don’t take the risks that could ultimately give them their hearts desires. As a teacher/ mentor of young teens, and a mother of three amazing girls, I want to empower young kids ( girls especially) to be bold and face their fears. 

Yet I find myself in a place recently confronted with some fears of my own. 

Relationships are scary things actually. I am shocked by young girls who rush into a relationship without caution. Because even though I think we should challenge our fears, I also know that we need to guard our hearts and use discernment in our decisions. Something I failed to do in the past. 

It’s a balance for sure. Once you have spent some time getting to know a person you have feelings for, there comes a time that you need to make decisions. Do you continue to be cautious or open yourself up to be more vulnerable to them? I can see why people are so fearful. I have been burned pretty bad in my past relationships. Yet I really believe in judging a person by their own merits. They are different people after all, but it’s hard to not secretly wonder if you are going to get hurt again. 

How do you guard yourself from further heartache and also open yourself up to the vulnerability required to have true intimacy that grows a relationship into something beautiful?

You can’t. It’s that simple, and that scary. 

If you want the intimacy of a great loving relationship you take the risk. You face the fear of rejection, or heartbreak or betrayal and decide that the risk is worth it. 

As for me I trust that God is leading me in all my decisions and I believe that the benefits of a loving relationship far out weigh the risk of heart ache I might endure. After all my God has shown me my worth, therefore I don’t look for it in other men. He has healed me from far bigger heartbreaks and he is my rock.  

  It’s a wonderfully scary place to be. ❤️

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

