Survival of the fittest

We have been having some interesting conversations about natural selection around here lately. 

It started as I was driving some crazy teenagers around ( my daughter and her friends). The things teenagers talk about will definitely leave you scratching your head sometimes, but then I think of the conversations my friends and I have and it makes me realize weird is normal.  At least for us it is. 

So somehow we ended up talking about raves being the futures form of weeding out the weak and disabled. My daughter would be one who wouldn’t make it because she has epilepsy. For those of you that don’t know raves have loud music and strobe lights, bad combo for those prone to seizures. Haha

I do enjoy their twisted sense of humor and more importantly my daughters ability to take something pretty serious in her life and put it in perspective. Not that she doesn’t struggle with anger or frustration that she has to deal with a lifelong disability, she has moments. She is pretty amazing in her ability to handle things like a mature adult. Maybe that is why I’m so shocked when she acts like a typical teenager. We all have our challenges with our children, but I’m pretty blessed with mine despite everything. 

My youngest is another challenge that I’m blessed with. She is a fighter for sure. She has been struggling with the loss of her home and the family she used to know, but I know she’s going to come though it shining. 

She has a great group of friends that I love to pieces. Smart cookies for sure. They have formed a club that my Daughter is a part of, a survival club. Like Bear Grylls, they learn how to survive in the wilderness without many supplies and they take it pretty seriously. They are supposed to go camping in the near future and no one is allowed to bring any food, talk about some BA little girls. They are definitely going to survive natural selection, and the zombie apocalypse as well. 

Glad to be blessed with my amazing girls, they keep me laughing and alive. 

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

