That girl

Growing up I was always that girl. You know the one, a bit of a loner. Not always wanting to go to all the parties or be invited to sleepovers. I hung out with mostly guys. Girls were too much for me. Too much competition. Too much drama. Too much underlying judgment. I had a few close girlfriends, but mostly I enjoyed the company of guys. There was no bull$&!& with them. They tell it like it is, and care more about fun than feelings.

I have learned a few things since my young naive teenage years.
First, girlfriends are priceless. I now have a great group of girlfriends and I wouldn’t trade them for the world. They get me. I can utter two or three words and they completely understand what I’m saying and what I need from them. No man can do that. Not even a husband or close significant other. They can try (and should), but they will never get us like we get us. Get it?
Second, no guy really wants to be your friend. Unless he is gay, in which case they make awesome friends, but they are more like girlfriends so they don’t count. Most guys are friends with you because they see you as a potential girlfriend or at least a hook up. I’m not including guy friends who are married obviously. There are a few exceptions to the rule. But in general guys are friends with girls because they are feeling out the territory to see if they have a chance. Keep that in mind and it will save you a great deal of confusion.

Men and women are so different. God made us that way and that is good. We should embrace our differences, because when it comes down to a good relationship the differences are what makes it work. You should also have things in common. You both like sports, or music or political discussion.
In other words; be yourself, celebrate your differences and trust your instincts. Give your man the freedom to love what he loves without judgment and expect him to do the same for you.
I am still that girl, I like to go out, but prefer a night in. I tend to keep to myself in groups, but have learned that balance is good in all things.

2015/01/img_7767.jpg

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in future. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

