selfishness

We are all selfish. Some more than others, but it is in our nature to care for our selves above others. I would love to believe I am a completely selfless being, who only thinks of others and their needs way before my own; but it simply isn’t true. That makes me sad sometimes.

I find my self on Pinterest, finding these beautiful quotes about selfless love that speak to my soul and I get excited about a life filled with that kind of purpose. To love others completely seems to me the pinnacle of life, and yet impossible to achieve.

I started on my road of selflessness when I first became a mother. There really is an unbelievable change in your perception of the world once you bring a child into it. It is amazing.

Before Child– all about me. My time. My money. My fun.

After Child– my time was her time, my money all went to care for her, my fun was making her happy.

This was a turning point for me, and I have tried to extend that viewpoint to all those that I have a relationship with.

Sometimes I get burned, which sucks.

Sometimes I feel like everyone should think like me, and get angry when they don’t. When in all actuality that is in and of itself pretty selfish. Damn catch 22, I guess.

When it comes to your kids at least, try to remember it is all about them. Not about you.

Every thought and life decision I make will greatly impact my girls and they are the deciding factor in many of my choices. That is how it should be, right?

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

