Natural splendor

I have always loved nature. It centers me. Makes me feel peaceful. I also realize how insignificant I am in this great big amazing world, and I’m glad of that. I need to know that God is in control, because lord knows what happens when I think I’m in control.

My father loved to take road trips. We drove all over the place, many a Sunday. Mostly in the state of Montana. Big sky country. Massive sky for sure. Drove to the gorgeous lakes all over the state. Yellowstone was my backyard for many years, and we treated it as such. Glacier national park. These things I will never forget, and why I truly believe in doing things with my children. This far outweighs the things I get them.
Memories, not money. That is what all kids want, please believe it. Even though what they say may contradict this, it is true.
I spent the day hiking with my youngest today and it was a glorious day. Montana De Oro state park is really an amazing place. Not to be mistaken with Montana; although the skies today were pretty amazing.
Between the two hikes we did I would estimate we accumulated at least 6 or 7 miles. We hiked down to the beach and played in tidepools, then we drove to Valencia peak and did a fairly strenuous, but breathtaking hike up to the peak of a mountain with amazing views of the ocean as far as the eyes could see.

My youngest is an Oak Ambassador, and has learned so much from her training as such. She beams with pride when she can show off her skills, like she did today. But times like these can be such a good training ground for life.
Some topics discussed;
The importance of planning ahead.
How easy it might be to give up and get discouraged when you don’t realize you have almost accomplished your goal.
Team work can make you safe and more effective.
If you pray for something, expect it to happen.

These were our lessons today, and yet we had so much fun who knew we were learning too.

Here’s to life lessons in nature, for the new year and beyond.
2015, it’s on!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2cc/57913017/files/2014/12/img_0984.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/2cc/57913017/files/2014/12/img_0979.jpg

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

