Memories…

Memories are interesting things. I mean our brain is such an amazing organ, it helps us move, rationalize, make decisions, and store memories. I used to think that a memory was just a mental photograph filed away in some box in my mind. Some easily recalled, others are almost like a mirage. Blurry. Just out of reach. Distorted. It seems that the bad memories often are the ones more clear to us, and the good ones just blend into each other like water colors on a canvas.

Nicholas Sparks said it well when he wrote, ” There are moments when I wish I could roll back the clock and take all the sadness away, but I have the feeling that if I did, the joy would be gone as well”.

Make your painting beautiful. It is your choice, how it turns out. Your life. Will the painting be full of sadness and despair? Peace and joy?
I have always felt that spending time with my children is paramount to accumulating things for us. Creating memories far outweighs providing stuff. I love creating memories with them and I hope the happy memories will at least make the bad memories less painful.

Last night I went ice skating with my 15 year old and some of her friends. As someone who lived in Montana, and tried to enjoy some of the safer winter sports; ice skating was one of the good memories. My sister and I, along with our amazing friends would rent skates and go to the local frozen pond for a day of skating. Bundled up in our handmade scarves and hats thanks to our momma. My oldest was just a baby at the time, about a year old or so and we would bundle her in a snow suit, put her in a tube and pull her around with us. We had a blast.
My 15 yr old has been ice skating with me a time or two and she picked it up pretty fast, she really enjoys it. So we were excited to go as soon as we were able.
The local rink, Blades on Ice, is a great facility. The ice was well maintained, staff friendly and atmosphere perfect. So glad we have this so close to home to enjoy frequently.
You see, I’m in the business of making memories with my children. It’s part of my job description and I take it pretty seriously. Last night we made some awesome memories and I know that they will help to blur some of the recent painful memories my daughter has haunting her. I thank God for the privilege of creating these moments with them, and the people who make it possible.

Enjoy your children people, it won’t be long before they are grown and gone.

IMG_0358.JPG

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Community, Family, future. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Memories…

  1. wolfegrrl says:

    I remember getting pulled around on my Minnie Mouse tube!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

