The storm

It is raining outside as I type. I hear the tapping on my roof, feel the cool air drifting through my open window, savor the moist earthy dirt smell that reminds me of Seattle. Seattle is a beautiful place, and was once my home. Thoughts of this place is mingled with sadness and joy, peace and turmoil. It is still a place where a few of my family members live.

My sister and her husband, live in a suburb of Seattle and raise and show Irish Wolfhounds. They are glorious dogs, let me tell you. Graceful and powerful, intimidating and gentle, aloof and affectionate. I have met no other beast like it. These dogs are their babies. Unfortunately, with love comes pain and heartache and they have had their fair share of loss. Many of these amazing dogs that they have had the privilege to love and care for have passed on; leaving a deep sense of loss and melancholy, but a blessing as well. One of their beloved dogs, Tyra, just passed away. Leaving a legacy of gorgeous puppies. 10 to be exact and only 3 weeks old. My sister is beside herself with grief; yet needs to find the courage and strength that only God can provide her so she may care for these babies that must be in mourning too. It’s heartbreaking on so many levels.

In my women’s bible study we are studying the book of Revelation. The revealing of Gods truth. Which, of course is something we should all be seeking diligently. Last night one of our major topics of conversation was symbolism. Our group researched and discussed the symbolism of clouds. Fascinating stuff really. I think that we can look at a cloud in one of two ways.

A powerful, foreboding storm on the horizon. Those feelings of previous loss can bring up anxiety and fear as we look towards the clouds coming our way. Serious rain and rough weather can really cause some serious damage and loss.

Clouds can also bring thoughts of peace and blessing as we pray for rain to water our crops and bring us sustenance. Rain can cleanse us as well, from the filth that surrounds our homes. Washing away all the debris that can clutter up our yards.

In life we will all encounter storms, I pray that when you are there you have the loving family around to support you. You have God to go to for strength and protection, and you feel the overwhelming love and support from those people that will carry you through the darkness to the shining light of hope.
Please pray for my sister and her husband as they walk through this storm together; with help from their family and friends.

May God bless you with his peace and presence.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

