Failure

Failure is a terrible word. Everyone wants to avoid it. So afraid of it, they often don’t try anything they might fail at. Something we all have in common, even though we don’t want to admit it.

We live in a fallen world. Look around you. Broken marriage. Broken people, abused animals. Anger. Lies. Cheating. Anxiety.

I have experienced this brokenness first hand in my own life. God has walked me through the necessary healing in these areas of my life and I’m so glad that I now know my worth. That I am a treasure that was created to bless God. I love to bless him, part of that is my job. I feel like I am blessing God when I work with my students. I also feel blessed to know God trusts me enough to work with his children.

It’s a burden I have always felt as a privilege. Until today.

I failed him. I failed many of
my students and I failed myself.

One of my students was victimized by another one of my students today. I can’t reveal details, due to the privacy
Issues surrounding my job but it devastated me. I let so many people down by not noticing the signs of a students behavior escalating to a dangerous place. I did not give my staff clear enough instructions on how to deal with this kind of situation. I did not create a safe learning environment for my students.
I know this is a good lesson for me, but it was at someone else’s expense. That’s what hurts. I let this kid down. I let God down. I let myself down.

So now I will be spending time in prayer,
Asking for forgiveness,
Thanking him for redemption,
And seeking discernment of how I can minister to my students.

I know I failed today, but thanks be to God I am not a failure.

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

