The fake Christmas tree epidemic

I hate fake Christmas trees. This is something I feel very strongly about deep down and I wasn’t sure why until I started to really think about my reasons. I must say that many of my close friends and loved ones have fake trees, and I do not look down on them or think badly of them. But I must share with you all my thoughts on the fake Christmas tree epidemic.

image (1)

The real magic of Christmas comes from sharing times with family and friends, blessing others and celebrating the birth of our savior, Jesus Christ. Our young ones develop their beliefs and traditions based on what we do and share with them. One of my fondest memories of the Christmas season is when we lived in Montana and we would go out into the forest to cut down our tree and bring it home to decorate. The brisk fresh air that smelled of dirt and pine, the cold red noses that trekked through the gorgeous white landscape looking for the perfect tree. The cussing and laughing that took place as my Dad tried to cut down our chosen Christmas tree (that took forever for us to find) and the thrown snowballs that we took to the back of the head as we waited, rather impatiently to head home with our prized tree.

Or you could just go to Home Depot and pick the biggest plastic thing you can find, ohhh make sure it has LED lights already installed and you are good to go for a few years or more. I am sure it is a huge time saver and eventually very cost effective.

Fake Christmas trees take away the magic from Christmas. They are the perfect example of how consumerism has taken over a beautiful cherished holiday, that is supposed to celebrate new life that defeats desolation and darkness to bless us. Apparently the history of the Christmas tree is up for some dispute, but is interesting nonetheless. Ancient Romans and other cultures brought evergreen boughs into their homes to remind them selves that winter would eventually be over and the promise of sun and new life would come.

A symbol that even in the darkest, bleakest night; there was a promise of a better tomorrow. Sounds like my Jesus and the hope I have in him when I am struggling through dark times. Leave it to us Christians to ruin things, because apparently the Christian missionaries took this as a horrible Pagan ritual that needed to be stopped. Don’t get me wrong, the Pagans did use the evergreen boughs as a tribute to their sun god, but as a Christian I know that God made everything and to him be all the glory. If someone is giving the glory to something else, educate them and move on. So the tradition went by the way side for awhile. Then some devout Christians in Germany decided to bring a tree into their home and place candles on a pyramid shelf to celebrate Christmas. It is thought that the protestant reformer, Martin Luther was the first to actually place the candles on the tree. There is a brilliant idea, huh?! Let’s put sticks of fire in the tree we have in our house.

The whole idea of bringing a tree inside is really bizarre. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. We will always have a real Christmas tree. Enjoy the smell of the outside brought indoors for a bit. Dedicate a day to the selection of the perfect tree, and the wonder of decorating and admiring the work of our hands; and God’s beauty. Create and maintain a feeling of tradition and wonder for my children, who need to be reminded that there is wonder and beauty still to be cherished and that there are still things in life that is constant and can be relied upon.

I do understand that their are exceptions to the rule. Some people are actually allergic to pine and can’t have a real tree in their home. To those of you I am deeply sorry, that really sucks. Other people might argue that the cutting down of so many trees is as environmentally unfriendly as those hideous fake trees that will eventually be put in the landfill. Well, the real trees will eventually decompose and there are so many tree farms growing all the Christmas trees that I am pretty sure any damage is reversed.

All I can say is I know I would not be blessed with a joyful face such as this if I had pulled the Christmas tree box from the rafters, instead of going on the search for that perfect tree.

image

Merry Christmas and God bless!

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

