“Grease” is to blame for all my failed relationships

Now don’t get me wrong, I love this movie. I was introduced to it, much to the chagrin of my older siblings, at the young age of 5 or 6 and I quickly fell in love. Singing, dancing, friendship and love conquering societal cliques. What’s not to love?
I had a pink ladies satin jacket. Dressed up 50’s for Halloween a few times and played “grease” with my best friend frequently. Somehow I always got stuck playing “Danny”. But that’s is another story for another blog.

My best friend gave my daughter the movie for her 10 th birthday and we have been watching it religiously ever since. As I sit her reliving so much of my childhood, mingled with the ever present struggles of my current situation I can’t help but over analyze things. I have come to the realization that “grease” needs to take some responsibility for my failed relationships.
I have always been a Sandy kind of character, to quote Tom Petty;

She’s a good girl, loves her mama
Loves Jesus and America too
She’s a good girl, is crazy ’bout Elvis
Loves horses and her boyfriend too

I may have done bad things, like all christians believe, I know those things don’t define me. They have actually helped me draw closer to Jesus and become a better person.

Movies should show girls that the bad boys, stay bad and usually never change.
Somewhere deep in my psyche I thought I could find myself a Danny, and he would change from the leather jacket wearing, smoking bad boy to a good Christian that would be a good role model for my children. How crazy is that?!

I have learned so much about myself and relationships over the years. The biggest one is to look at yourself for change before you point fingers at the other person. If I have done anything wrong over my years of living it is this; not believing that I deserved to be loved by a king that will treat me like a queen. I deserve it.
I Know this now.

20131110-222609.jpg

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

