Hindsight is 20/20

If there is one thing I have learned in my many years of living, it would have to be the importance of good vision.

Good vision is everything to us, I wake up in the morning and the first thing I do is open my eyes. That is a blessing that I can open my eyes, see my daughters lovely face, the filtered sunlight coming through my window, the on button for my coffee maker. That is a blessing for sure.  As a Special education teacher I have worked with students who are blind.

No vision.

Can you imagine? How hard must it be to hear your peers talking and having fun, but not be able to see them or feel like you can take part in their camaraderie? To not be able to see a sunset, or a puppy, or a beautifully orchestrated ballet; that is something I could not bear.

I have always bragged about my vision. When I was young I consumed mass amounts of carrots, thanks to those 70’s parents who told us that carrots improved your vision. I guess it is possible there was something to that. You see I am the youngest of 8 siblings and the only one who doesn’t wear glasses for something. I can see street signs from very far away. I can read tiny print in dim light, with my  very fluffy cat sitting on my lap. I have been blessed with great vision. But sometimes our vision fails us.

I have been through a terrible tragedy in my life, and I have to tell you I was “blindsided”. My vision, which I have always trusted, failed me. But it seems to me that when something we rely on fails us we need to get it checked out, readjust it, or replace it. My plan is to readjust my blurry vision.

My new focus is on Jesus, I know if I can keep my eyes on him I will come through the fire stronger and more refined. That is my goal, it always has been my goal, yet sometimes trials and daily tedium get our eyes off the prize, so to speak.

I could beat myself up for not seeing the signs, or not guarding my heart better, or putting myself in the position that lead to this point.  Yet the reality is, everything I have been through and the things I am going through, have shaped me into a pretty awesome person.

If you can’t see that you might want to get your eyes checked 🙂Image

About Rebecca

I am a Mother of three girls, a woman after God's heart, a special education teacher and a knit a holic. I have the best friends a woman can ask for, an addiction to worship music and a daughter with Epilepsy. I am beyond blessed in all situations I am in, will be in or have been in. God is good.
This entry was posted in change, Family, Memories, Relationship, The Christian life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hindsight is 20/20

  1. Jennifer Caceres says:

    You truly are an awesome person Rebecca! I would not necessarily say that you were “blindsighted” because you did what any normal Christian would do…you did what you could to make it work and believed in your marriage and family. Maybe YOU weren’t blindsighted–maybe it was HE who failed to see the wonderful blessings right in front of his eyes. You can’t help that because ultimately, people only see what they choose to see. You chose to see the institution of marriage and family as God created and intended. Although it may not seem like it now, your vision really is 20/20.

    Like

  2. Beautiful!
    I’m so sorry you were blindsided by a whole new set of challenges.
    You are an amazingly strong, gifted and inspire those around you.
    There is no better mama, teacher and friend.
    I am SO thrilled that you are blogging and will be looking forward to read each post! xo

    Like

  3. Michelle Lautzenheiser says:

    Thanks for sharing! I believe that now is the time for honesty and venerability! Too many of us have been taught to look good at all time but life doesn’t always give us that leisure! Unfortunately there are many that don’t know that what they are going through it ok normal even! Your blog points to Jesus without taking out the raw truth that life hurts sometimes! I love it and will continue to follow you.

    Like

  4. cherubim27 says:

    Thank you Ladies. I have always loved writing and am excited to finally be able to share my thoughts with anyone who cares to hear them. Honesty and truth are powerful, and that’s what makes some people uncomfortable right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

